…On The Move

By now you should know that “Crazy” Baby Mamas are always On The Move.  Last night I had the opportunity to attend KiKi’s Celebrity Bowling Challenge hosted by founder, KiKi Shepard for sickle-cell awareness. A lot of celebrities showed up to attend this cause to bring more awareness to what some say is a crippling disease.  One volunteer shared with me that her grandson who suffers from the disease has broken a bone just by sneezing.

Sometimes we forget how Blessed we are when we have a healthy child.  I can’t imagine what these parents are going through.  My daughter has a cold and I was frantically making her some tea last night to fight it.  For these parents it’s a Fight to keep their child alive.  Their child suffers 20 times more with a cold than my daughter ever will.  It’s a great cause to look into and I’m considering becoming a bone marrow donor.  I can admit that I have been thinking about it for quite some time but I’ve been fearful to go any further.  Like most people, I’m afraid that they may take a part of me away that I will eventually need.  It’s like donating your kidney to someone and later needing it back because now the one you have is failing you.  Okay, I’ll stop with the excuses already but I hope you get my point.  I’m looking to do something great and I think this is a good start.

What do YOU want to do?

Love Yourself

What is Sickle Cell Disease?

Discovered in the United States over 100 years ago, sickle-cell disease (SCD) statistics are staggering.  In the US, one in 2,500 newborn babies has the disease and approximately 54,000 babies are born each year with sickle-cell trait. There are approximately 80,000 Americans with sickle-cell disease and 3.5 million with sickle-cell trait and related disorders.  Sickle cell anemia (SCA) is an inherited and lifelong condition. While there is no generally applicable cure for SCD, several promising developments have occurred to improve the quality of life and survival of SCD patients (Source:  http://thekisfoundation.org/).

Written by: Max-Laine


About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

