THAT’S What Friends Are For

It’s no coincidence that on the same month of Breast Cancer Awareness Month, I find out that one of my Friends who I consider as a second mom has cancer.  I never knew anyone close to me to be diagnosed with anything remotely close to this.  I wonder why is it that bad things happen to good people.

It’s a funny story how we met.  I was introduced to her by someone I use to consider a good Friend.  Although we no longer speak to the person who introduced us, my friend and I have grown closer over the years.  She has given me some of the best advice I have ever received and provided emotional support while I was breaking up with my daughter’s father.  I truly believe that everyone that comes into our lives serves a purpose for a season and a reason.

Before I could understand that statement, I always felt like I was betrayed by that person I considered a “good” friend.  Was her purpose to hurt me so that I can grow closer to my second mom?  I guess so.  It sounds pretty messed up but it was worth it because I ended up developing a really good relationship with someone I looked to for guidance when there was no one else to turn to.

During my Man-Fast which I call the period after breaking up with my daughter’s father, I realized who was really there for me.  It was the lowest point in my life.  I kept a lot of my struggles to myself and the ones who really cared notice there was a change in my attitude.  I appreciated their consideration and observation.  However, there were those who not only noticed but LOVED that I was suffering.  Have you ever known someone who will kick you while you’re down?  Especially when things seem to be going well for them.  It’s their time to shine even though you’ve been in their corner all this time.  There you are in their corner while they’re competing against and you have no idea that you’re in a race.  A race to BE better than you.  A race to BE smarter than you.  A race to BE more financially independent.  A race just to BE lonely in the end.  Sorry but the only person I’m competing against is myself.

I laugh at a lot of the things I did for people and the things I allowed them to do to me.  I thank them ALL because I would not be the person I am today if it weren’t for the Hate they showed me.  I’m stronger.  I’m wiser.  And, I have to admit that I’m tired too.  Too tired to make new friends.  I’m cautious because I’ve been burned so many times.  When it comes to finding Love and true friends can be very intimidating.  I’m a bit annoyed with myself because I feel like I should have known and chosen better.  At this point, I have to learn to get over it.

I’m sure once I “get over it” that I will find genuine good people — as I keep my GOOD eye on them at all times. LOL.  Learning to Love Yourself helps!  When I was at my lowest point I didn’t love myself so I couldn’t expect for others to love me when I didn’t.  Opening a Healed Heart can only attract Loving and Caring people who see the Love I have for myself.  People will always respect you when YOU do.

Love Yourself!…for Real!!

Written By: Max-Laine

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

