The Underdog

Rocky.  The American story about a small time boxer who gets a once in a lifetime chance to fight the heavyweight champ in a bout in which he strives to go the distance for his self-respect.  Sounds like a page out of a book for Single Moms.

Everyday is a struggle to make ends meet.  With the economy the way it is most single moms probably can’t tell that there is a recession.

I’ve had to file for bankruptcy since losing my home in January 2009.  The Home Association for my townhouse had a court-order judgement against me.  Without any income not to mention the bank had already sold the house there was no way I could pay the $4,000 lien.  Heck, before filing for bankruptcy the lawyer for the HOA threatened me.  He said that if I didn’t pay up that my credit would be severely affected. HA! I told him that if he could find room on my credit file to put it on there then by all means feel free.  I couldn’t help but to laugh at those telemarketers who called me asking if I could borrow money from family or friends to pay the debt I owed.  Again Mr. Telemarketer, did you NOT hear me say that I just lost my job, car, and house.  Any ways, my family and friends had their OWN problems.  I should have told him to ask one of his family members or friends for the money.  Better yet, he could have put them on his Call List and save me the trouble from using my cell phone that was days away from being disconnected.

Don’t think for one minute that I’m not taking this seriously because I have.  It’s just that when you’ve cried so much you can’t help but to laugh.  Forget that saying about making lemonade with the lemons life throws at you.  I’m taking those lemons down to the Farmer’s Market’s parking lot to see if I can sell those damn things.  I’m fine with drinking water…besides it’s FREE.

Beyond my financial struggles, no job, and credit issues, I think I’m headed down the right track.  If you think about it most successful people had to go through financial ruins before making their millions.  My favorite Rags to Riches story is of Cathy Hughes, the owner of Radio One.  In 1979, she and her husband wanted to purchase a radio station.  They applied for 32 loans before they were approved.  Soon after obtaining a loan, her marriage ended in divorce so Ms. Hughes bought her ex-husband’s share to run the station by herself.  As a single mother, she fell on hard times and could no longer afford her apartment.  She and her son moved into the radio station to cut costs.  Now, Radio One owns radio stations throughout the major markets and she has launched TVOne which is a cable television channel.  She was able to Make a Way Out of No Way.

For so many people, they couldn’t imagine taking on such a huge risk especially with a child.  It’s stories like these that inspire me to stay focus.  I have a fortune from a fortune cookie posted on my computer that reads: Struggle as hard as you can for whatever you believe in. I LOVE this statement and whenever I try to talk myself into quitting I have it there to remind me not to!  Looking at my daughter encourages me as well.

No matter what, I can’t quit now.  I look forward to the day when I can celebrate my success.  There were so many people along the way who told me I couldn’t do it.  It was only true because they couldn’t do it themselves.  I say Thank You to all of them because without them I wouldn’t have the fuel to prove them wrong.  Most importantly, I have more to prove to myself that I CAN do it!!

Love Yourself!!

Written by: Max-Laine

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

