365 To Success (Day VIII)

(8th Day, 357 days to go) Not just your ordinary Angel.

Someone who has made a significant impact in my life is now laying in hospice waiting to be taken away to heaven.  She was the first person I told that I was going to focus more on a writing career.  She was my Spiritual Mother who always had the write words to say to me.  I can remember her encouraging me to go for it.  She was always telling me to follow my dreams because she didn’t want me to get to her age when it would be too late.  We always joked that I was the one with an old soul while she was young at heart who knew how to Walk It Out at 60-something-years young with all her grandkids.

The last time I spoke to her was for Christmas.  I promised her that I was going to help her get her book published and help write her script for a movie she dreamed to see on the big screen.  I hope to still have that opportunity to fulfill her dream.  No need for her dream to die with her.  Her writings are a part of who she is and it will forever live on this place called Earth.

For the first time during our friendship, I will not be able to be there for her as I have in the past.  It’s sad that considering my finances or shall I say my broke a** can’t go see her for what could be her final moments.  I don’t know if I want to see her in her condition.  However, purchasing a ticket will not only be difficult but it’s a luxury cause I’m on the other side of the coast now.  I know she is with me in spirit.  Just the other day Melanie and I did our first interview on a major radio station in Cleveland, Ohio for our book.  She would be so proud because that’s where she’s from.  I didn’t get a chance to tell her that but this is confirmation that I have her Blessings and that she will always be a part of me through my work.

Sending my Love to you, Marie Edwards.  The Original “Crazy” Baby Mama.

Update: She passed away on January 9, 2011 at 7:50 a.m in Atlanta, Georgia.

Love Yourself!
Written by:  Maxx

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

