365 To Success (Day IX)

(9th Day, 356 more days to go)  She’s gone but not forgotten.

I woke up yesterday startled by my phone ringing so early in the morning.  I saw BROKER MARIE come up on my phone and was hoping that miraculously that she was the one calling me…but it wasn’t.  Instead, it was her son calling me to inform me that my friend, my former real estate partner & teacher, and my 2nd mama had passed away at 7:50 a.m. that morning.

When I looked back at the time, I realized that I had fallen asleep 50 minutes before they pronounced her death.  I was up very early to listen to my first radio interview that was on a radio station near her hometown.  My proudest moment became the saddest time in my life all at once.  It’s been snowing like “crazy” in Atlanta since she passed away.  The snow is symbolic because it’s a celebration of her life and I know her spirit is with me.

Other than Marie, I’ve never lost someone this close to me.  Even though my father passed away about 5 years ago, I only cried because the person who told me he died started to cry over the phone.  Moments after I hung up I wiped away my tears and continued with my day as if nothing ever happened.

This time around it’s not going to be that easy.  Marie was the one who helped me during my difficult breakup with my daughter’s father.  She gave me emotional support that only an experienced mother like herself could give.  Not only was I heartbroken but I was struggling financially also.  She told me, “Max, you’re going to lose money and men in your lifetime so get used to it.”  When I heard that I knew she was speaking from the heart.  She explained that with experience that I will eventually learn how to keep both.

There were so many life lessons that I learned from her and I’m so thankful for having her in my life.  She taught me how important it was to have a forgiving heart and how to love your child unconditionally regardless of how they live their life.  This helped me have a better relationship with my mom and daughter.

Marie always knew how to make write things to say and I dedicate my writing career to her.

Love Yourself!

Written by: Maxx

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

2 responses to “365 To Success (Day IX)

Leave a Reply

