Day FOURTEEN

(14th Day, 351 more days to go)  Conversations with my daughter.

Today, I spent some quality time with my daughter.  Since she’s started school, she’s too busy being a social butterfly with weekly invites to parties and play-dates by her new friends.  We usually go on our outings at least twice a month because I know it’s important to do this before she grows up and moves away.  However, we haven’t had the chance to due to the lack of funds.  Luckily, the other day a friend gave me two $5 gift cards to a local coffee shop.  I know my daughter loves hot cocoa with marshmallows so we took the gift cards to have a Mommy & Me chit-chat session over some drinks.

Our conversation was definitely an eye-opener for me because I didn’t realize how distant we’ve become and how she yearned for some quality time with me.  With things being so tight I can’t imagine that she’d be content to ride her scooter everywhere cause that’s all I can do with her that doesn’t revolve around money.  It’s hard on parents like me because now-a-days kids think that the only way to have fun is to go somewhere that costs money.  When she was younger I could get away with taking her to places that didn’t cost a thing but she knows better now.  It’s easy to make the assumption that parents need to set ground rules and that kids need to understand that they can’t have everything.  With heavy influences from the media and social networks in addition to their peers getting everything they want from their parents it makes it 10 times harder not to cave in.

Based on our conversation, I have to say that I’m afraid to let her go.  Everyday that passes is another day closer to the day she will leave me.  These past 10 years seem to have passed me by so quickly.  I can still remember her waking me up by turning on the television to watch Elmo’s World.  She was barely 2-years-old and could work herself around any gadget as if she read the instruction manual from front to back.  Oh, how I miss those days.

Other parents with older children always tells me to cherish every moment and I now understand what they mean.  So I say the same to you, Dear Reader.  “Enjoy and cherish every moment whether good or bad cause it all will count someday…trust me.

Love Yourself!

Written by: Maxx

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

