Don’t Forget…

(159th day, 206 more days to go) …where you came from!

Last night I met someone who has overcome some tragic situations in their life, at least that’s from my perspective.  For all I know he could still be affected by one of those events everyday of his life.  However, from the world’s perspective he’s an icon to men and an inspiration for so many women.

At first glance, I was thrilled to see him but I had to resist exposing my excitement.  You know when you see a celebrity unexpectedly you have to compose yourself and hopefully don’t make a fool of yourself in front of them.  He seemed to be in a relax mode and I didn’t want to come off as some groupie or “crazy” football fan.  I’m sure you’re wondering to yourself, “who is she talking about” but in due time I will reveal who this person is…in another post of course. haha

Within seconds, I almost lost my opportunity to go speak to him as he proceeded to leave the interception zone (was the area I knew if he left I was never going to be able to speak to him). After a brief introduction, I went straight into my sales pitch and grabbed his attention once I told him about the “Crazy” Baby Mamas. He listened with so much interest that I forgot who I was speaking to.

I was able to overcome my shyness with a quickness.  During our conversation, I realized that he is so humble despite his fame and accomplishments.  You think that most of these celebrities act a certain way on television and another way when you meet them.  You’re surprised to find out that some of them are actually nice and this person gave up 11 minutes of his time unselfishly.

Although I don’t know if my pitch won him over completely, I will have faith that I’ll be making updates to our flyer for our panel discussion very soon.  However, I couldn’t help wonder how many people he trusts in his life.  With losing so much when he was younger and having to grow up quickly to help his family, those same people could have hurt his progress.

They always say “don’t forget where you came from” but what if the people where you’re from forget what it’s all about.  If I allowed myself to feel defeated by my circumstances and never get out of the bad situations that I was in who knows where I’d be.  My family and friends can be happy that I got myself out of those situations but if they’re not moving forward in their lives then how can I have a decent relationship with them.

In this industry, I’m learning that if your family or friends are not comfortable with where they are in their lives then it’s going to be hard to maintain a relationship with them as you move up in the world.  You don’t want to hear the same old stories or excuses when you call them to see how they are doing.  It’s not that you are better than they are it’s about being in a different place in your life.  We can’t stop living for other people and unfortunately you have to be ready to let go of a lot of people in your life as you become successful.  It just will never be the same. (This is just my opinion and I’m sure there are people who are successful and have maintained the same relationships with people they’ve known their entire life.  However, I’d like to know if those people are as successful or living in the same situation as before.  No matter what you think they’re lifestyle does make a difference.)

Along the way my family, friends, and experiences have shaped me into the woman who I am today.  If I were to go into any further explanation then you’d start to think that I’m the one making up excuses.

Always remember this:

People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.
When you figure out which one it is,
you will know what to do for each person. ~Author Unknown

To add to this quote, I wonder if each person knows what to do for you.

Love Yourself!

Written By: Max-Laine


About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

