Giving Credit

(122nd day, 243 more days to go)

Last night, my daughter and I were playing with her cell phone when I saw a text message from her father.  He sent her a message on Mother’s Day that said to tell me, “Happy Mother’s Day.”  I asked her why she didn’t tell me and she swore that she did.  Well, she’s ten years old and isn’t going to remember anything that doesn’t pertain to her friends, schoolwork, or when a new episode will air for her favorite television show.  I couldn’t be upset with her because she probably didn’t want to be in the middle of our drama.

When I first read it I knew I had to write about it because so many of us single moms don’t give our child’s fathers credit without saying something negative.  I could have easily said, “why didn’t he call instead of texting,” or “he still ain’t sh**,” blah blah blah.  I’m so over that stage and I hope that many of the single moms who read this Blog will someday be where I am emotionally.

I never thought I would see the day that I would appreciate a small gesture like that from my daughter’s father especially without saying something negative behind something that’s so positive.  This is just a small step and it’s going to take more time before we are able to be in the same room together without hating each other.

My Blog post for Happy Mother’s Day To Me was because I didn’t get this message from our daughter and this post is to give her father credit for doing something that I thought I at least deserved.

Love Yourself!

Written by: Maxx

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

