Movie Review: Bridesmaids

(131st day, 234 more days to go)

I went to see the movie, Bridesmaids over the weekend and wished I saw it sooner. It’s a girl’s flick for sure but not too girly to bring a date. The men at the movie theater I attended seemed to enjoy it.  I guess they did because I didn’t see any of them hiding under their jackets as they left the theater.

The ensemble of funny women were a great fit and complimented each other’s roles.  Each bridesmaid had their own humor whether it was inappropriate when Melissa McCarthy’s character either farted or burped in one scene to the moment when maid-of-honor,  Kristen Wiig’s character faked her way throughout the bachelorette party.  If you’ve ever been part of a wedding party, this movie will make your experience seem like a piece of cake even on those days that everyone got on your nerves and you couldn’t wait until the entire event was over.

In my opinion, the movie moved along too slow in some parts but picked up when the women went to the bridal store.  I dare you not to laugh during that scene.  In fact, I bet you a cup of complimentary water that you’ll hold your belly laughing.

I couldn’t help but think about who my real friends are and who has my back.  The main characters, Annie (played by Kristen Wiig) and Lillian (played by Maya Rudolph), reminded me of my first best friend, Christina L., from elementary school.  Although I lost contact with her after the 6th grade, we always talked about being a maid-of-honor in her wedding and raising our kids together.  I hope to find her one day and maybe one of those wishes will come true.

RATING: See It

Reviewed by: Maxx

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

