Movie Review: The Help


(193rd day, 172 more days to go)

I haven’t seen a movie portraying Black Women in sort-of a demeaning way that made me feel good leaving the theater.  Wait…wait…let me explain.  Before heading out to the theater to watch The Help, I read reviews here and there particularly by African-American writers and critics.  They believed that this generation will not gain anything from watching this movie.  I totally disagree because I took my daughter and she enjoyed it so much that she cried during one scene.

I thought that this was a better way to look into African-American history for my daughter’s generation.  In the past, we were exposed to gruesome images such as the beating of Kunta Kinte on Roots or looking at Oprah Winfrey’s face after she endured a beating in the Color Purple.  I can honesty say that I am “slaved” out.  I don’t want to see another slave movie that depicts people who look like me in brutal circumstances for the rest of my life.

Instead, The Help will be this generation’s classic movie.  It’s part of the African-American experience and it’s a story that should be told.  After seeing this movie, I believe that every generation needs their historic film depicting the untold stories of African-Americans.  They didn’t have to beat the mess out of a Black character to get the message across that they were abused.  It was settle moments when you knew the character endured abuse and sometimes that’s all you needed.

I hate that there is Oscar buzz for it.  It just seems that in order for Black actors to win this prestigious award that they have to play stereotypical roles like Cuba Gooding Jr. in Jerry Mcguire or Halle Berry in Monster Ball.  For the most part, I don’t want to make it a racial issue cause Caucasian actors are not scrutinized this way.  More often it would be nice to see Black actors win an Oscar for superb performances like  Jamie Foxx in Ray.

No matter how I feel about the Oscar buzz thing, I believe that they do deserve more positive recognition and less flack for making history by teaching history.  The classroom is always in session with The Help.

crazybabymamas

Rating: See It

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

