“Cubicle World”

(206th day, 159 more days to go) “Cubicle World” is a segment that I do on Twitter about life all from my itty bitty cubicle.  I’ve had to take a part-time gig to survive but I’m still pursing my writing career. I refuse to quit so while I “work”, I Tweet.  Here’s one I did the other day on the Do’s & Don’ts on a job.  Hope you will Follow me & join in on the conversation.

MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
Oh no..! There’s actual work 2 B done in “Cubicle World”
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
Don’t U hate when U don’t have time to “work” on your personal stuff while you’re at your job. I mean the nerve of some bosses 2 interrupt U
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
I’m trying 2 Tweet & this lady keeps interrupting me. We both know this is a temporary gig. My heart isn’t 2 work in the corporate world
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
The last time I worked was 3 yrs ago when my Mofo Manager told me I was being laid off after giving them 3 GOOD years of my life.
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
Never called in sick, bought my daughter 2 work w/ me, & came in early & stayed late. The ONLY time I got in trouble was b/c I was late
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
I thought everything was cool cause I had been on time all the time. In life U should have a FREE pass and Dammit I was using it then
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
But nooooooo, this chick brings up that time 2 years later while sitting in her office. Three freaking years of service & thats what U say
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
She was married w/ 2 kids so I knew she would understand considering I’m doing work that’s meant 4 two parents…well I THOUGHT she would
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
She “happily” fired my ass and kindly gave me 2 week severance pay and they would not dispute my unemployment claim. Gee, Thanks!
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
I realized that Corporate America doesn’t give a shit if you’re a #singlemom, or that someone died in your family, or if U deserve a raise
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
All they’re worried about is U coming into work. U quit, they’ll hire someone else. U take a leave of absence, they’re ready 2 replace U
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
U die, they’ll MAYBE send your family flowers but they’ll post your position in the Want Ads in a heart beat! I’ve seen it happen #realtalk
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
Worked in Human Resources for 7yrs & they or I really didn’t care if U had a job or not. So my attitude has changed since I’m not in HR
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
I’ve made MY own rules when I do have 2 work. 1)Never decorate your desk. This is a sign that U are NEVER planning 2 leave.
MaxLaine
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
2) Come in On time & Leave on time. No need 2 do anything extra cause all they’re going 2 remember is when you’re late or call in sick
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
Don’t spoil them cause your #Boss will expect it all the time and have zero understanding on Y U can’t when they’ve seen that U can.
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
3) Do what they pay U for. Anymore that deserves a pay raise & if they don’t want to pay then that’s okay. Keep doing a good job.
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
Don’t ever quit cus U won’t B eligible 4 unemployment which U deserve b/c your taxes pays for that benefit & if U need then use it
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
Last but not least B4 I go, #4) ALWAYS have an updated resume avialble & different versions so U can B ready 4 an opportunity when it comes
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
I always say, “Don’t get ready, BE ready.” U NEVER know who or when U will run into some1 who can change your life cuz they may not wait 4 U
MaxLaine
IAmMaxLaine MaxLaine
I would love 2 connect w/ more #Singlemoms so if U know any, pls ask them 2 #Followme. I appreciate U 4 tuning in 2 my “Cubicle World” muah

About crazybabymamas

Authors of the book, "Are You A 'Crazy' Baby Mama?" which is a handbook for Single Moms. We are single moms who have RE-defined "Crazy" and celebrate ALL moms. If you're "crazy" about your kids then you're probably a "crazy" baby mama. It's about taking something that's negative and turning it into something positive. No more drama for these "Crazy" Baby Mamas. View all posts by crazybabymamas

Leave a Reply

